This Is What OVERWEIGHT Looks Like

This is what overweight looks like

I want to put things into perspective for those making New Year’s fitness resolutions or setting weight loss goals.

This is me. I’m a self proclaimed foodie. But I also like to exercise. I currently do circuit training 4 times per week, Zumba 2 times per week, pole fitness once a week, and strength training once a week. I also add in things like yoga, Pilates, Barre, spin, and step when the mood strikes. By all accounts, I am considered a relatively fit person. I am also considered “overweight” according to a very widely used formula: Body Mass Index (BMI). Yes, this is what overweight looks like.

overweight side

This is simply an illustration. Everyone has different body types, genetics, metabolisms, situations, etc. If you’re bigger or smaller than me, it doesn’t matter, I’m just using me as an example. The scale can’t measure your strength. It can’t measure your health. It can’t measure your fitness level. And most importantly, it can’t measure your worth.

sweet-romantic-love-quotes

beauty-isnt-measured-in-pounds-quote-1 68645_512056095495609_2027379175_n

Only YOU know the truth. Do you live a healthy lifestyle? Do you feel great? If you’d like to improve your overall well being, take some steps to do so, and the rest will come. Once you feel great – you’ll look great! Because as cliché as it is, confidence is very attractive!

I am a strong believer that fitness level cannot be measured by outside appearance. Some of the most fit and inspirational people I know happen to fall into the “overweight” or “obese” categories – and not necessarily due to muscle mass alone. On the flip side, many “skinny” ladies (who likely fall into the “underweight” category) lift much heavier weights than I do at the gym – they are strong. They, too, are inspirational!

If you’re the type of person who needs a quantitative measurement of your progress, I encourage you to consider alternatives to the scale. Or, consider using additional measurements in conjunction with the scale.

– Body fat percentage. Some home scales can provide this reading or you can go for a composition test at a local clinic.

– Waist measurement. Simple yet effective.

overweight dude 2

Meet my “borderline obese” husband. Most people would refer to him as “slim build” and I would consider him quite fit. The BMI Index, on the other hand, places him at the high end of overweight.

A few reasons prompted me to write this article:

– In my adult life, I have ranged from underweight, to normal, to overweight. Right now, (at overweight!) I feel more FIT than ever before. IT’S OK TO BE OVERWEIGHT!

"underweight"

“underweight”

at a "normal" weight

at a “normal” weight

– The media is constantly throwing out statistics about the “overweight” population or the “obesity epidemic”. In fact, a friend recently tagged me [on Facebook] in a link to a news article with some stat on the percentage of the Canadian population that will soon be considered “overweight”. She likely assumed I’d be outraged at the trend. I wasn’t. I am indeed part of that stat!

–  Occasionally, I feel medical professionals use the BMI index inappropriately. I am lucky enough to have a fabulous Doctor who asks me about my fitness regime rather than simply looking at numbers on a chart. However, here are two recent examples to the contrary

1. My brother, who would be considered in shape, found himself in the ER with a severe back injury from hockey. Can you guess what the ER Doctor discussed? Yup, his BMI. An athlete with a sports injury preventing him from moving. This is the absolute perfect time to bring up a few extra pounds, right? Particularly when your patient is clearly living an active lifestyle.

2. A friend of mine was told, by her Doctor, that she must lose 100 lbs. This is based on the amount required to put her in the “normal” category. Do you know how daunting ONE HUNDRED pounds would be? Especially when a great majority of HEALTHY people aren’t even in the “normal” range? Way to make a “healthy weight” achievable, Doc.

3. I received some “before and after” photos today from a friend. Her friend had been weight lifting for 10 months. She’d GAINED 14 lbs but appeared leaner and was stronger. She commented on the difference between a pound of fat and a pound of muscle! I was so inspired that I HAD to write this article today. No more procrastinating.

overweight dude overweight side 2

overweight legs overweight calve

We are not extreme athletes. We are not bodybuilders. We are simply “regular” people. Shouldn’t the BMI index take into account even a moderate amount of muscle mass? I think so.

The BMI formula was created in the 1800’s and I consider it completely irrelevant nowadays. It should definitely be updated – who’s with me?! In the meantime, lets disregard it, shall we?

Here is another great article I found:

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=106268439

I’m no medical professional and these are just my opinions… I’d love to hear your thoughts!

*The photos shown have not been edited or altered. I didn’t even brighten them. They are straight from my phone taken in our home gym (basement). I feel this disclaimer was required given the surprising amount of edited personal photos that are being posted to social media these days.


Leave a comment